Home > Modelling & Painting > Blessings of The Omnissiah – A study into alternative car maintenance

Blessings of The Omnissiah – A study into alternative car maintenance

My car is very much like me.  It looks good for its age, it could be in better shape but occasionally it’s still capable of bursts of brilliance.

Like me, it’s also has a somewhat perverse sense of humor now and again. For example, three months ago I noticed that the engine was occasionally registering heat spikes.  In this situation I did what every modern, virile, 30-something man does.  I called my father.  Now this isn’t as pathetic as it sounds, my dad is a car salesman and indeed he sold me the car.  He believed that it was just a faulty internal thermometer, any dealership should be able to replace this part for around £70 he said.

With this in mind I took my car to the Mazda garage near my work.  After some prodding of its machine spirit it turned out that my water pump had failed and in it’s death throes it has taken the timing belt and tensioner pulley with it.  Cost to replace all this: £512.71.

Since the alternative was to wait until my engine decided to pack in, which I suspect would have cost significantly more to replace, I had little choice but to have the work carried out.  This left me wondering, is there anything hobby-related I could do to ensure that such an unfortunate event doesn’t happen again?

Well, rationally the answer is a resounding no, however to make myself feel better I decided to insure that the Omnissiah imparted its blessing onto my humble six year old Mazda 2.  So I made this:

The Omnissiah Protects!

I used Blu-Stuff to take an impression of the Mechanicus symbol from the Manufactorum kit then made two mouldings using Green Stuff.  After removing the flash I stuck them back to back, drilled a hole for the chain and painted it.  Fairly simple and you never know it might protect my car for a while!

Categories: Modelling & Painting Tags:
  1. 01/25/2012 at 13:28

    LOL brilliant

  2. 01/25/2012 at 13:46

    Genius. 🙂

    Now you just need a censer for burning the appropriate incense (praise be!), the correct holy oils to anoint the drive shaft (hail the Omnissiah!), and to intone the Catechism of Initiation as you turn the key (blessed be the Machine Spirit!).

    Then you’re practically guaranteed trouble free driving for a lifetime.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

