Home > Modelling & Painting > The Warmonger Pledge

The Warmonger Pledge

Today I was involved in a Twitter conversation with @wartrader who referred me to an article he’d written last year about his efforts to manage his backlog of shiny.  You can read it here.

To sum up you basically aren’t allowed to buy new products until you’ve successfully cleared your backlog, however you can have some exceptions.  Here are mine:

  • An offer I can’t refuse.  If I see a genuine bargain, such as products being sold at a significant discount, I’m allowed to indulge within reason.
  • I am allowed to buy an occasional miniature, no more than on every six to eight weeks.  If I do then it has to be painted immediately so as not to increase the backlog.
  • In the two months starting from the release of the 6th Edition of 40K I’m allowed to pick up the odd whatnot provided that it’s painted immediately as detailed above.
  • Scenery and terrain is allowed but only after all my existing  backlog of these model types is cleared.

Hopefully I’ll do my best to stick to this, I hope I do since my backlog (particularly my Dark Eldar) is immense.

 

  1. Steve
    01/31/2012 at 19:09

    I do not see this increasing the odds of you producing a fantasy army anytime soon.

  2. 01/31/2012 at 21:57

    Like the theory behind this, but surely by buying the additional one here and there, the back log remains the same as you work on the ones you buy 🙂 But hey, who needs an excuse not to stock pile your hobby….

  1. 02/01/2012 at 19:12

Leave a Reply

