Home > General > Taking The Emperor’s Shilling

Taking The Emperor’s Shilling

Snakeeyesgames has posted an article about coercing encouraging people to take up wargaming, you can read the full article here.

This has got me thinking, I don’t think I’ve ever seen someone actually make this leap. Certainly I’ve seen lapsed gamers return to the fold, especially those of roughly my age, and I’ve seen many embrace new games. But a virgin gamer (steady!), no I don’t think I have.

I got into gaming really when I started secondary (high) school at the age of 12 having previously played Hero Quest and Space Crusade a couple of years earlier. While those impossibly young gamers I met were new, they’d all made the leap.

With this in mind I’d like to ask a question. Are you or do you know anyone who was the first in your social group to become a Warmonger? And if so, how did this happen?

Categories: General
  1. empecee
    02/17/2012 at 23:28

    I think I fall into the Virgin Gamer category. I have only been doing this hobby since Sep 2010. To cut a very long story short. My daughter got excited about it when she wandered into a GW store. My Wife and I decided to investegate. And now we all collect. Very slowly as collecting for three people can get a tad painfull on the wallet.

    The long version of my first exposure to this addiction can be viewed on an old bolg of mine http://3mpecee.wordpress.com/2011/03/12/a-hobby-for-the-whole-family/

    • Valandil
      02/18/2012 at 20:33

      This is a great story, shame it’s probably a rare occassion that this happens

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

