Home > Bretonnians, Warhammer Fantasy Battle > Gaming on a Budget 2: The Return!

Gaming on a Budget 2: The Return!

At the start of this year I introduced my Hobby Tin idea to the world and by way of follow up I’d like to talk briefly about another way that I (and lets face it, most of you) also can maintain our Shiny Addiction during these hard times.

I am, of course, talking about the second hand market.

Like many gamers, I’m a bit of a hoarder.  My parents’ attic is full of shoe boxes and bin bags containing the plethora of tat that I left with them when I moved out almost fourteen years ago.  About two years ago I started going through this for models with a view to keeping what I actually needed for my current armies (as well as the extremely sentimental ones) but also to select those I thought I could sell on.  To date I’ve made about £400 pounds, mainly through eBay but also the occasional sale to friends or friends of friends.

As with the Hobby Tin, this money is reinvested into my current armies but increasingly I’ve been trawling eBay for good bargains to help my Bretonnian army get off the ground.  Last week this bore significant fruit as on Friday these lovely things arrived in the post:

These were all unpainted and on-sprue, all from different sellers and together they cost only £22 which is only just more than the current Knights of The Realm set costs new from GW.  While you can get better deals if you’re happy to buy assembled or non-pro painted minis this approach should allow me to get at least the core of my army up to strength as cheaply and conveniently as possible.

Now all I have to worry about is getting them painted in time for the campaign start in three weeks time!

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

