Home > General > The curious fate of Needgamers.com

The curious fate of Needgamers.com

Way back in the dim and distant past when this blog was young, I wrote about Needgamers.com a website which had the noble aim of connecting like-minded gamers.  All you needed to do was create a profile and list what you were interested in playing, be it tabletop, RPG or those new fangled ‘video games’ and you could search for others by game and geographic location.

Here’s what the website looks like now:

Need Gamers JP

Or, if Google Chorme’s translate function is to be believed:

Need Gamers EN

I think it’s fair to say that the site has been somewhat repurposed but in all seriousness why did it fail?  Now, had I any actual investigative skills I’d have tried to track down the former site admins and ask them that very question but since it’s a Sunday afternoon and I’m still in my dressing gown I’d rather throw in my own feelings on the matter.

1) It was too ambitious.  Trying to capture the attention of all different types of game and gamer is a gargantuan endeavour, the resources required are not ordinarily within the reach of internet startups these days.

2) There was little or no user verification.  Virtually all the private messages I received were from spambots, this was what led me to deactivate my account only a few months after I created it.

3) During the time I had an account I made no new contacts, all the people on there I linked to I already knew from either the Real World or through other sites, mainly Twitter.  This brings me on to the most important point.

4) The site only replicated, poorly, so many other means of communication.  All consoles come with their own well established online communities and PC games likewise do all the hard work for you.  Likewise, tabletop and RPGs are well served by a plethora of sites, a vibrant Twitter community, local gaming stores and clubs.

 

Of course the real reasons might be completely different, although somehow I doubt it.  So does this mean that there’s no room for new sites like this?  I’m not too sure but if there is it will have to evolve out of an existing, unfulfilled, need and right now I can’t see what this is.

Categories: General
  1. 05/27/2013 at 00:05

    It didn’t help that all they did on Twitter was tweet the same thing with the same link over and over again. They never answered anyone’s questions or responded to feedback.

    • 05/27/2013 at 13:03

      Indeed. I think those tweets were automated as, if I remember correctly, they kept being generated for a time after the site went belly up.

      • 05/28/2013 at 12:10

        Numpties.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

